October 2020

October, 29

Fernando Renes at Un Momento Atemporal

Un momento atemporal is an exhibition that celebrates Injuve’s 35 years of dedication to the visual arts and does so with the collaboration of Tabacalera Promoción del Arte. It is a proposal for a revision of young art that fantasizes about the desire to understand all that time as a kind of expanded present. A specific moment that started in 1984 and essentially remains the same in 2020.

Apart from the function of shuttle artists that will always have an event dedicated to the young, Un momento atemporal takes on the challenge of celebration from a less prospective and more organic, more biological will, where the intention is not to point out triumphs, but rather letting oneself be carried away by the richness and diversity of its contents, thus claiming an autonomous and passionate reading of young art. A tribute that is not legitimized in the future, or in the historical, but in the maximum intensity of a large sum of continuous presents.

Un momento atemporal voluntarily moves away from chronological or retrospective journeys and opts for an emotional approach where the works dialogue with each other, freed from all those burdens attached by the passage of time. Without certainties, without guarantees, timelessness thus becomes a distinctive element of Injuve’s visual arts program, and it rehearses a possible choral account of young art through the works of many of the artists who participated in its exhibitions. At the end of the day, everything that happened during these 35 years has happened thanks to the creators who applied – and continue to apply – to their call.

Curated by David Armengol.

Organized by: Ministry of Culture and Sports. Subdirectorate General of State Museums and Ministry of Social Rights and Agenda 2030. Institute of Youth

Dates: October 29, 2020 – January 31, 2021

Headquarters: Tabacalera Promotion of Art (Calle de Embajadores, 51. Madrid)

List of artists: Ana Laura Aláez / Xare Álvarez / Martí Anson / Ibon Aramberri / Marlon de Azambuja / Iñigo de Barrón y Andrea González / Sergio Belinchón / Bleda y Rosa / José Castiella / Gemma Clofent / Isabel Codina de Pedro / María Ángeles Díaz Barbado / Manuel Diego Sánchez / Eloy Dominguez Serén / Equipo Límite / Ana Esteve Reig / Jon Mikel Euba / Marcelo Expósito / Grupo EVHIM / Eva Fábregas / José Carlos Fernández Nistal / Núria Fuster / Patricia Gadea / Ana García-Pineda / Silvia Gómez-Fontecha / Marta de Gonzalo / Raúl Hernández / Pello Irazu / Sofía Jack / Tamara Kuselman / Diana Larrea / Abigail Lazkoz / Javier Longobardo / Eduardo López / Jesús López Yáñez y Enrique Cantero Pulgar / Cristina Lucas / Mateo Maté / MawatreS / Miguel Ángel Mayo Mendo y Flavia Mielnik / Regina de Miguel / Julia Montilla / Eva Morales / Juan Luis Moraza / Joan Morey / Pepe Murciego / Jonathan Notario / Itziar Okariz / Antón Patiño / Alberto Peral / Iván Pérez / Asier Pérez González / Publio Pérez Prieto / Gabriel Pericás / Sergio Prego / Tere Recarens / Fernando Renes / Francisco Ruiz de Infante / Marco Sánchez Godoy / Jorge Satorre / Laura Torres Bauzá / Miguel Ángel Tornero / Xavier Úbeda / Juan Ugalde / Eulália Valdosera / Virginia Villaplana / Ian Waelder /




October, 20

Toby Christian at SUTDIOAUDIO

Participating artists: Phyllida Barlow; Toby Christian & Good Gear; Marion Coutts; Biggs & Collings with Ian MacMillan; Jadé Fadojutimi; Hamish Fulton; Andy Holden & The Grubby Mitts; Merlin James; Hardeep Pandhal & Joe Howe; Fabian Peake; Sally O’Reilly; Maria Zahle with Blue Lake

Twelve audio commissions made in response to 2020. A collaboration between AICA–UK and PEER

To be broadcast on Resonance FM and then available at and

AICA-UK (International Association of Art Critics) in collaboration with PEER present STUDIOAUDIO, a series of new audio commissions by artists, made at a time of significant change in our daily lives. They will be premiered on two programmes on Resonance FM at 8pm on 21 and 22 October and then repeated at 10am the following mornings. They will then be disseminated via the websites of AICA-UK and PEER. Collectively, they will stand as a record of an extraordinary historical moment and demonstrate how creativity can be a powerful form of resilience.

Twelve artists including Phyllida Barlow, Hardeep Pandhal and Hamish Fulton have been invited to create a new sound work of between three and eight minutes long. Encompassing scripted performances, music, poetry, sound-works and diaristic reflections, the artists have explored their relationship to the studio as a place of solitude and creativity. During current uncertainties, the commissions respond to the new complex realities that the artists are navigating. The responses vary widely as some have embraced the time and space that lockdown has delivered, while others have been severely hit by its consequences. These include lost exhibition opportunities and income, and the project aims to provide a platform for new forms of work that engage with the format of radio and online distribution. The project has been generously supported by Art Fund, AICA-UK, and PEER.